2017 African Movie Academy Awards

The 13th African Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) ceremony which was held at the Eko Hotels, Victoria Island, Lagos on July 15, 2017 lived up to its billing.

Hosted by Nse Ikpe Etim, the event had Senegalese movie, Felicite as the biggest winner of the night. It won six AMAAs, the most of all the contenders, including three of the five major categories – best film in 2017, best actress in a leading role, and best supporting actor.

Nigerian historical drama, ’76, won three awards from its eight nominations. In total Nigeria won nine awards, including the special recognition honour given to veteran comic-actor Nkem Owoh.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best short film: A Place For Myself (Rwanda) & A Place In the Plane (Senegal)
Best animation: Got Flowers (Nigeria)
Best documentary: Mama Colonel (DRC)
Best film in an African language: Felicite‬ (Senegal)
Best film by an African living abroad: While We Live (Burkina Faso/Sweden)
Best diaspora short: 90 Days (US) & Kbela‬ (Brazil)
Achievement in production design: ’76‬ (Nigeria)
Achievement in costume: Queen of Katwe (Uganda)
Achievement in makeup: Oloibiri (Nigeria)
Best production: ’76 (Nigeria)
Best soundtrack: Felicitè (Senegal)
Achievement in sound: Vaya (South Africa)
Achievement in cinematography: The Last Of Us (Tunisia)
Achievement in editing: Felicitè (Senegal)
Achievement in screenplay: Vaya (South Africa)
Lagos state award for best Nigerian film: ’76 (Nigeria)
Best young/promising actor: Medina Molanga (Queen of Katwe)
Tony Elumelu award for best comedy: 3 Wise Men (Nigeria)
Best actress in a supporting role: Angelique Kidjo (CEO: Nigeria)
Best actor in a supporting role: Papi Mpaka (Felicitè: Senegal)
AMAA lifetime achievement award: Nkem Owoh (Nigeria)
Best actress in a leading role: Vero Tshanda (Felicitè: Senegal)
Best actor in a leading role: Jahwar Soudani (The Last of Us: Tunisia)
Best first feature film by a director: Daouda Coulibaly (Wulu: Mali)
Best director: Akin Omotosho (Vaya: South Africa)
Best film: Felicitè (Senegal)
Special recognition award: Celine Loader