All hail Liberia’s 24th President

George Manneh Weah has been sworn in as the 24th President of the Republic of Liberia at ceremonies in the capital, Monrovia.

Weah won the presidency on 26 December 2017 with 61.5 percent of the votes in a runoff election against the then incumbent Vice President Joseph Boakai after first round polling on 10 October.

He takes over from outgoing President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf in a first transition of power from one democratically-elected president to another in about 74 years.

Administering the oath of office, Chief Justice Francis Korkpor, charged Weah and his Vice President, Jewel Howard-Taylor, to loyally and conscientiously uphold the Constitution and laws of Liberia to the best of their abilities.

Jewel becomes the first female Vice President of Liberia, like former President Sirleaf was the first elected female President of Liberia and Africa.

After the oath of office, President Weah received the Guard of Honour of the Armed Forces of Liberia (AFL), becoming its new Commander-in-Chief.

The ceremony was attended by a host of African leaders or their representatives from Ghana, Nigeria, Togo, Egypt, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Algeria, Sierra Leone, Congo Brazzaville, Senegal, Gabon, The Gambia, Ukraine, among others.

The occasion was also attended by a host of football stars that Weah played football with in Europe and other parts of the world, including Didier Drogba, Samuel Et’o, Jayjay Okocha and Sunday Oliseh, among others.

The 35,000-seater Samuel Kanyon Doe Sports Complex Stadium, where the inauguration was held, was full to the brim with Liberians of all walks of life that restrictions were employed to curb crowd overflow.