AU Commissioners sworn in

The African Union Summit ended with the swearing in of the newly elected Commission Chairperson Moussa Faki Mahamat of Chad and the Deputy Chairperson, Thomas Quartey Kwesi, a veteran Ghanaian diplomat.

Also sworn in were six out of eight Commissioners.

The included Smail Chergui, the incumbent Commissioner for Peace and Security, who won a hotly contested election.

The Algerian won the elections, defeating Fatima Kyari Mohammed, the Nigerian candidate representing West Africa at the elections.

Minata Samate Cessouma, a Burkinabe citizen, emerged the winner as the AU Commissioner for Political Affairs. She replaces Aisha Abdullahi of Nigeria, who did not opt for re-election after serving one term.

The election results were canceled once after a reported malpractice by one of the six contesting candidates for the Peace and Security.

Amira Elfadil Mohamed Elfadil of Sudan was elected the new Commissioner for Social Affairs, replacing Mustapha Sidiki Kaloko of Sierra Leone, the incumbent, who lost the vote.

Zambian economist Albert Muchanga, representing Southern Africa, won the polls to become the new Commissioner for Trade and Industry, replacing Fatima Haram Acyl of Chad, who ran for re-election.

The new Commissioner for Rural Economy and Agriculture, Leonel Correa Josefa Sacko of Angola, was also sworn in replacing the outgoing Commissioner, Rhoda Peace Tumusiime, Ugandan, who served her two-full terms.

The elections for the Commissioner for Economic Affairs and the Human Resource and Technology were suspended with three candidates running for Economic affairs and seven candidates running for the post of Science and Technology.

The new Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy, Amani Abou-Zeid of Egypt, was elected and sworn in among the six commissioners.

In a brief statement to the Summit, the incoming AUC Chairperson, thanked the African leaders for entrusting him with the job. The new Commissioners are expected to assume their positions after three months.