Four candidates to contest Ghana’s presidential poll

Ghana’s Electoral Commission (EC) accepted the forms of only four of the 17 candidates who filed their nomination papers to contest the 7 December presidential election, the chairperson of the Commission, Mrs Charlotte Osei, announced.

They are President John Dramani Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Nana Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) and Jacob Osei Yeboah, an independent candidate.

However, the nomination of Akwasi Addae Odike of the United Progressive Party (UPP) as the flag beareer is being challenged by his political party executives.

Mrs Osei said the EC disqualified 12 candidates who filed their papers to contest the election because a number of subscribers of the presidential aspirants did not meet the regulations of the EC.

She said some of the subscribers also sponsored more than one candidate with the same names and voter registration details.

Mrs Osei said the matter would be referred to the Attorney General for investigation and prosecution.

The disqualified aspirants are Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom (Progressive People’s Party), Mr Hassan Ayariga (All People’s Congress), Dr Edward Nasigri Mahama (People’s National Convention) and Mr Kofi Apaloo (Independent People’s Party). The other disqualified parties are Dr Henry Lartey (Great Consolidated Popular Party), Thomas Ward-Brew (Democratic People’s Party), Akua Donkor (Ghana Freedom Party) and Kwabena Adjei (Reformed Patriotic Democrats).

The rest are Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings (National Democratic Party), Alfred Asiedu Kwame Walker, an independent candidate, Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party) and Nana Agyenim Boateng (United Front Party).

Officials of some of the parties claimed they had not received any communication from the EC on their disqualification and have threatened to go to court to reverse the decision.