President Barrow appoints 11 ministers

Gambian President Adama Barrow has appointed 11 ministers who were sworn in the same day.

Gambia’s cabinet comprises 18 ministers, with a Vice President. The majority of the ministers  are from the seven political parties which backed President Barrow to defeat former president Yahya Jammeh at the December 2016 presidential poll.

Ministers already sworn in are: Lamin N Dibba, Minister for Land and Regional Government; James P.F. Gomez, Minister for Fisheries, Water Resources and National Assembly Matter; Amadou Sanneh, Minister for Finance and Economic Affairs; Ousainou Darboe, Minister for Foreign Affairs, External Relations and Gambians Abroad; Omar A. Jallow, Minister for Agriculture.

Others are Mai Ahmad Fatty, Minister for Interior; Hamat N.K Bah, Minister for Tourism and Culture; Henry Gomez, Minister for Youth and Sports; Lamin Dibba, Minister for Forestry and Environment, Dr. Isatou Touray, Minister for Trade, Regional Integration and Employment; and Ba Tambedou, Minister for Justice.

President Adama Barrow said his cabinet will be very friendly with the media, because they are very important to the development of The Gambia.

He also described swearing in ceremony as a very important in the history of the third republic of The Gambia, and commended the appointed ministers for accepting to serve their fellow citizenry.

“You should work for institutional reforms, laws and progress that will transform mother Gambia into a full-fledged democracy and facilitate socioeconomic and political development of the citizenry in the new Gambia,” he said.