Winners at 2016 CAF Awards

Algerian winger Riyad Mahrez was recently voted as African Player of the Year 2016 at the GLO-CAF awards held in the Nigerian capital, Abuja.

Mahrez, 25, who helped English premiership side Leicester City win the premiership title last season, becomes the first Algerian and North African to win the prestigious individual honour in African football since its inception by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) in 1992.

He beat last year’s winner, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Senegalese forward, Sadio Mane.

Ugandan goalkeeper Denis Onyango won African Player of the Year – Based in Africa 2016 award. Onyango, 31, became the first goalkeeper to win the award reserved for players who ply their trade on the continent.

South African club Mamelodi Sundowns was voted Club of the Year.

Nigeria forward Asisat Oshoala was named Women’s Player of the Year, her second glory after 2014 in Lagos.

Nigerian strikers Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi won the Most Promising Talent and Youth Player of the Year awards respectively.

The winners of all the categories were decided by votes from the Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF, members of the CAF Media Committee, members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee and a 20-member panel of experts, according to CAF.


The following is the full list of award winners: African Player of the Year:

Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City) African Player of the Year: (Based in Africa) – Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns) Women’s player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies) Most Promising Talent: Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City) Youth Player of the Year: Alex Iwobi (Nigeria and Arsenal) Coach of the Year: Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns) Club of the Year: Mamelodi Sundowns National Team of the Year: Uganda Women’s National Team of the Year: Nigeria Referee of the Year: Bakary Papa Gassama (Gambia)     Football Leader of the Year: Manuel Lopes Nascimento, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation Legend Award: Laurent Pokou – Former player of Cote d’Ivoire Emilienne Mbango – Former player of Cameroon Platinum Award: His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

Africa Finest XI:

Goalkeeper: Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns) Defenders: Serge AURIER (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen ABDENNOUR (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric BAILLY (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce LOMALISA (DR Congo & AS Vita) Midfielders: Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan DOLLY (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns), Forwards: Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City)

Substitutes: Aymen MATHLOUTHI (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel), Kalidou KOULIBALY (Senegal & Napoli), Salif COULIBALY (Mali & TP Mazembe), Islam SLIMANI (Algeria & Leicester City), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma), Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City), Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal)